Les 5 du Vin

5 journalistes parlent du vin

Bourgueil vertical tasting: 100 overshadows 1893!

8 Commentaires

Image

Bourgueil: 1947 to 1893

The September 2013 issue of Decanter magazine included my article on the ageing qualities of Loire Cabernet Franc, which was based in part by the remarkable tasting that Les 5 du Vin had enjoyed in the cellars of Lamé Delisle Boucard in early June 2012.

Decanter is always published at least a month in advance, so the September edition came out in late July when France was on holiday. It was only after La Rentrée that it was picked up in the Loire and, especially in Bourgueil.

I suppose I should not have ben surprised that it was the score of 100 points given to the 1893 Bourgueil from Lamé that made the news. Decanter has recently changed their policy to require points up to 100 to be awarded to wines cited in articles. Philippe Boucard of Lamé Delisle Boucard was contacted and interviewed by La Nouvelle République and Radio France Bleu.

Although when I take part in judging at wine competitions I use marks as I’m required to do, I prefer to avoid using marks and certainly never use them on Les 5 du Vin or Jim’s Loire. I have always found marks pretty meaningless – difficult to shoehorn a wine’s intrinsic qualities into a set of marks even before you consider the circumstances and ambiance, when it was drunk.

Although I’m delighted that the  ‘perfect score’ caught the media’s attention, I would have much preferred that it was the mythical bottle from 1893 that captured the attention in its own right rather than I gave it 100 points. It was an extraordinary occasion to climax an amazing tasting with a wine of 120, still in possession of its faculties.

The wine yes but more than that – a reflection on all the events that had taken place in Bourgueil, France and the world during that intervening period. A 100-points doesn’t start to cover that. It is entirely inadequate. It makes no more sense than noting railway engine numbers.

It would be good to think that the wine world and wine enthusiasts will one day overcome the addiction to scores – to hurl away the numerical crutch or at least take it down to the nearest charity shop.

1 Corinthians 13:11 sums it up perfectly: ‘When I was a child, I spoke like a child, I thought like a child, I reasoned like a child. When I became a man, I gave up childish ways.’

J-ElvisCUss

Auteur : Les 5 du Vin

Journalistes en vin

8 réflexions sur “Bourgueil vertical tasting: 100 overshadows 1893!

  1. I am very proud to have been there and I remember vividly the old vines we shared – a special mention for the 1947 rosé too. And I also remember the atmosphere. The cellar was dark, but there was sun in our eyes and our bellies. When do we do it again? For us, and also for those we can share it with on this blog or elsewhere…

  2. But of course, all for the sake of pleasing your readers ….

  3. Oh Jim, would it that your words of wisdom will be heard, understood and enacted around the world. Amen!

  4. Apologies for the late response but yesterday we were travelling out to the Loire to see the 2013 vintage when it eventually starts. David – I suspect neither of us are optimistic that the wine world can be weaned off points!

    Hervé I certainly remember the tasting very clearly and your presence but I don’t recall sharing any old vines with you. Not good for the teeth is not advice. It does, however, expalin the strange crunching sound I heard occasionally during this memorable tasting. Yes the 1947 Rosé was amazing.

  5. OK Jim, wines, not vines. By the way, do you know the story of the Frenchman in Waterloo?
    He asks a guy in the street: "Est-ce qu’on prononce Waterloo, comme dans Watt, ou Vaterloo, comme dans Weinstbub? "Je ne sais pas répond le type, je suis en wacances".

  6. Wery glad that you like it, vhat!

Laisser un commentaire

Suivre

Recevez les nouvelles publications par mail.

Rejoignez 10 220 autres abonnés